bowl of porridge in the sunshint

Sunny Sunday Brunch Spot

I have a haven. And even better, it’s a delicious sun trap. My ram-shackle patio that my mum and I salvaged from our over-grown garden. It has pots bursting with snowdrops and a green battered chair. And even on a winter weekend, when the sky is blue, the air is crisp and the sun throws its shallow arc across the sky, my patio bathes in the golden rays. I can sit here, with my mug of tea and my magic porridge (with blueberries, desiccated coconut and seeds), shut my eyes, turn my face to that beautiful ball of light in the sky, breathe in, breathe out, and smile.

A plane motors overhead, and I’m transported to summers lying in my parent’s garden as a child. The birds chatter in the branches and I could be in the jungles of Costa Rica. My cheeks glow pink and I’m on a far-flung sandy beach, I can almost feel the sand between my toes…

My favourite sunny Sunday brunch spot.

porridge in the sun

patio

snowdrops

Leave a Reply

